Sushi Lover; but Pregnant?

Standard

So the biggest downfall for me is that I can’t eat anything raw… right now.

Right now because I am sure that once I do the Toxoplasmosis test I will be positive. I have had cats my whole life and have three cats right now. Apparently, even if I have had cats, it is possible that I have never been infected. I definitely do not want to risk it before I get the results.

What is Toxoplasmosis? Toxoplasmosis is an infection due to the parasite Toxoplasma gondii.

Apparently cats can give that to you and if they do – technically – you can eat raw foods. Not exaggerating of course, there is always the risk of food poisoning too; but technically you can eat it.

So, right now I have the excuse that I can not clean the kitty litter :)

Anyways, the other day we went to our favorite sushi restaurant, I was so bummed out that I could not eat my beloved phili roll (which is Philadelphia and raw salmon) or my albacore nigiri. You have no idea how much I LOVE, LOVE sushi. I mean, I basically ate it twice a week.

So… I ordered the teriyaki stake and rice. Then I realized that there ARE rolls for pregnant women!!

I asked my waitress to bake my salmon and make me a phili roll anyways, so no problem there.  Since you are allowed to eat grilled or baked salmon, that totally worked and it wasn’t at all bad. Keep in mind, it’s advised, to not eat more that 6 ounces of fish a day.

Then I asked for a California roll, because imitation crab is fully cooked!

I initially thought that when I went home, I would have to make myself some mac and cheese or something; but at the end I ate a lot!

So here is the list of safe Japanese dishes for pregnant women:

(I will update this if I come up with other stuff)

  • Phili Roll (with baked salmon, not raw)
  • California Roll (imitation crab, not sure with the real thing. You will need to ask)
  • Cucumber or Avocado Rolls
  • Nigiri: unagi (freshwater eel), anago (saltwater eel) and tamago (sweetened, cooked egg)- These are all cooked
  • Miso Soup
  • Their teriyaki selection (chicken, steak, baked salmon)
  • Edamame
  • Vegetable Tempura

Don’t forget you can always ask your waiter for a list of cooked sushi too!

Do you guys have any other suggestions I could add to the list?

 

Enjoy!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

